Yellowface
(Playaway)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Laser, Helen, narrator.
Playaway Digital Audio, issuing body.
Playaway Products, LLC, issuing body.
Published
Solon, Ohio : Playaway Products, LLC, [2023].
Format
Playaway
Physical Desc
1 audio media player (8.75 hr.) : digital, HD audio ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in.
Status
Belle Isle Library - On Display
FICTION KUA AMP
1 available
Bethany Library - Fiction
FICTION KUA AMP
1 available
Downtown Library - Fiction
FICTION KUA AMP
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Belle Isle Library - On DisplayFICTION KUA AMPOn Shelf
Bethany Library - FictionFICTION KUA AMPOn Shelf
Downtown Library - FictionFICTION KUA AMPOn Shelf
Edmond Library - FictionFICTION KUA AMPChecked Out
Northwest Library - FictionFICTION KUA AMPOn Shelf

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Published
Solon, Ohio : Playaway Products, LLC, [2023].
Language
English

Notes

General Note
Audio media player.
General Note
Unabridged.
General Note
Issued on Playaway, a dedicated audio media player.
General Note
One set of earphones and one AAA battery required for listening.
Participants/Performers
Read by Helen Laser.
Description
What's the harm in a pseudonym? Bestselling sensation Juniper Song is not who she says she is, she didn't write the book she claims she wrote, and she is most certainly not Asian American--in this chilling and hilariously cutting novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author R. F. Kuang in the vein of White Ivy and The Other Black Girl. Authors June Hayward and Athena Liu were supposed to be twin rising stars: same year at Yale, same debut year in publishing. But Athenas a cross-genre literary darling, and June didn't even get a paperback release. Nobody wants stories about basic white girls, June thinks. So when June witnesses Athenas death in a freak accident, she acts on impulse: she steals Athenas just-finished masterpiece, an experimental novel about the unsung contributions of Chinese laborers to the British and French war efforts during World War I. So what if June edits Athenas novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? So what if she lets her new publisher rebrand her as Juniper Song--complete with an ambiguously ethnic author photo? Doesn't this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That's what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree. But June cant get away from Athenas shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring Junes (stolen) success down around her. As June races to protect her secret, she discovers exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves. With its totally immersive first-person voice, Yellowface takes on questions of diversity, racism, and cultural appropriation not only in the publishing industry but the persistent erasure of Asian-American voices and history by Western white society. R. F. Kuangs novel is timely, razor-sharp, and eminently readable.
Target Audience
Adult.

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Title Information

Staff View

Loading Staff View.