Lark Ascending
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Hachette Audio, 2022.
Format
eAudiobook
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Physical Description
7h 2m 0s
Language
English
ISBN
9781649041258

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Title Information

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3700770d-09cd-488d-666d-2f54e6a5494b-eng
Full titlelark ascending
Authorhouse silas
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-03-16 07:39:58AM
Last Indexed2024-04-20 02:48:32AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcesyndetics
First LoadedNov 1, 2023
Last UsedApr 23, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2022
    [artist] => Silas House
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/hbg_9781668625156_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 16000486
    [isbn] => 9781649041258
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Lark Ascending
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [duration] => 7h 2m 0s
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Silas House
                    [artistFormal] => House, Silas
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [1] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Charlie Thurston
                    [artistFormal] => Thurston, Charlie
                    [relationship] => READER
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Dystopian
            [1] => Fiction
            [2] => LGBTQ+
        )

    [price] => 2.99
    [id] => 16000486
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => AUDIOBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => A riveting story of survival and hope, set in the not-too-distant future, about a young man forced to flee the United States and seek refuge across the Atlantic. 



 As fires devastate most of the United States, Lark and his family secure a place on a refugee boat headed to Ireland, the last country not yet overrun by extremists and rumored to be accepting American refugees. But Lark is the only one to survive the trip, and once ashore, he doesn't find the safe haven he'd hoped for. As he runs for his life, Lark finds an abandoned dog who becomes his closest companion, and then a woman in search of her lost son. Together they form a makeshift family and attempt to reach Glendalough, a place they believe will offer protection. But can any community provide the safety that they seek? 



 For readers of novels such as Station Eleven, The Dog Stars, and Migrations, Lark Ascending is a moving and unforgettable story of friendship, family, and healing.    Silas House is the New York Times bestselling author of seven novels, one book of creative nonfiction, and three plays. His writing has appeared in the New York Times, the Atlantic, the Advocate, Time, Garden & Gun, and other publications. A former commentator for NPR's All Things Considered, House is the winner of the Nautilus Award, the Storylines Prize from the NAV/New York Public Library, an E. B. White Honor, and many other awards.  
	"In Lark Ascending, Silas House casts an irresistible spell, conjuring a near future that is both familiar and unbearable, illuminating the brutality and suffering that our own thoughtless age seems determined to invoke. But Lark Ascending is not merely, or even mainly, a tale of pain and grief. This beautiful book is shot through with such tenderness and humanity, such love and courage and beauty and hope, that it feels almost like a prayer."

-Margaret Renkl, author of Late Migrations  



 "Silas House has always served as an ancestor from the past who has stepped into the present with rich lessons in tow. But with Lark House reveals himself to be an oracle from the future who has come back to illuminate our lived moment with a snapshot of what the years ahead could hold. The vision is terrifying and spare, but in House's capable and delicate telling, it is also beautiful and compelling. Lark marks a stunning turn in House's career, taking him from the Appalachian Mountains to a post-apocalyptic Atlantic crossing, but I have no doubt that readers will follow Silas House wherever he goes, whether into the past or headlong into the future." 

-Wiley Cash, New York Times bestselling author of When Ghosts Come Home 



 "A postapocalyptic epic that is quiet and lyrical . . . an emotional testament to the power of hope."

 -Booklist, starred review



 "A dystopian classic, finding new notes of peril and possibility in the once-and-future homeland of Ireland and giving us the kind of richly observed alternative family that humanity of any era would call savior. It also has the best dog ever, excepting my own. Don't miss this one." 

-Louis Bayard, author of Jackie  Me 



 "I was sucked into this urgent story where survival in the not-too-distant future depends on forging connections with strangers and nurturing tenderness and hope within. An essential, heartbreaking but ultimately uplifting read."

-Michelle Gallen, author of Factory Girls and Big Girl, Small Town  



 "With Lark Ascending, the gifted Silas House has, with the most deft and masterful touches, forged a quite terrifying and all-too-plausible glimpse of our near future and somehow imbued it with almost impossible quantities of poetry and humanity. A gripping story of endurance, suffering and loss, but also of overwhelming love, loyalty and hope, the result is a hugely impressive feat of the imagination . . . A beautiful, haunting piece of work, and a compulsive read." 

-Billy O'Callaghan, author of Life Sentence
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/16000486
    [pa] => 
    [publisher] => Hachette Audio
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)