Mika in Real Life: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author
Published
William Morrow, 2022.
Format
eBook
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Language
English
ISBN
9780063215702

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Title Information

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID547343c8-6860-82fd-71f0-389b46b3c217-eng
Full titlemika in real life
Authorjean emiko
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-07-13 10:11:13AM
Last Indexed2024-07-13 10:11:25AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcesyndetics
First LoadedJul 27, 2023
Last UsedJul 11, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2022
    [artist] => Emiko Jean
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/hpc_9780063215702_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 14680076
    [isbn] => 9780063215702
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Mika in Real Life
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 384
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Emiko Jean
                    [artistFormal] => Jean, Emiko
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Asian American
            [1] => Family Life
            [2] => Fiction
            [3] => Friendship
            [4] => Women
        )

    [price] => 3.19
    [id] => 14680076
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => In this brilliant new novel by from Emiko Jean, the author of the New York Times bestselling young adult novel Tokyo Ever After, comes a whip-smart, laugh-out-loud funny, and utterly heartwarming novel about motherhood, daughterhood, and love-how we find it, keep it, and how it always returns.

One phone call changes everything.
At thirty-five, Mika Suzuki's life is a mess. Her last relationship ended in flames. Her roommate-slash-best friend might be a hoarder. She's a perpetual disappointment to her traditional Japanese parents. And, most recently, she's been fired from her latest dead-end job.
Mika is at her lowest point when she receives a phone call from Penny-the daughter she placed for adoption sixteen years ago. Penny is determined to forge a relationship with her birth mother, and in turn, Mika longs to be someone Penny is proud of. Faced with her own inadequacies, Mika embellishes a fact about her life. What starts as a tiny white lie slowly snowballs into a fully-fledged fake life, one where Mika is mature, put-together, and successful in love and her career.
The details of Mika's life might be an illusion, but everything she shares with curious, headstrong Penny is real: her hopes, dreams, flaws, and Japanese heritage. The harder-won heart belongs to Thomas Calvin, Penny's adoptive widower father. What starts as a rocky, contentious relationship slowly blossoms into a friendship and, over time, something more. But can Mika really have it all-love, her daughter, the life she's always wanted? Or, will Mika's deceptions ultimately catch up to her? In the end, Mika must face the truth-about herself, her family, and her past-and answer the question, just who is Mika in real life?
Perfect for fans of Kiley Reid's Such a Fun Age, Gayle Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, and Rebecca Serle's In Five Years, Mika in Real Life is at once, a heart-wrenching and uplifting novel that explores the weight of silence, the secrets we keep, and what it means to be a mother.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14680076
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Novel
    [publisher] => William Morrow
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)